words for the year

With the new number of another new year, it’s a chance to refocus.
It’s a chance to re-evaluate, take a look at yourself, set goals, & set values back in their rightful spot.
I usually get excited about adventures & dreams. Those are the typical words I focus on. I’ll make some journal pages for adventures I want to go on & dreams I want to see become reality.

Sometimes I feel one word sticking out in my mind; I’ve seen many friends & strangers do this. But I usually approach the one word with less excitement & usually don’t come up with one. I feel focusing on one word is ignoring other areas that need attention not neglecting.

Today, however, I wrote three words I want to re-incorporate into my daily life.

 

image

 

image

 

image

Lately, I’ve felt my daily life lacking in these values.
I would use all three of them to describe the kind of life I want and the kind of person I want to be, but lately my thoughts, emotions & feelings have outweighed these characteristics.

//

This past weekend, I got to visit a friend I hadn’t seen in over a year.
We’re both in the same boat of figuring out life after being abroad and what we want, so we met up for a weekend of fun. I expressed how much I need fun & fun is difficult when my friends are hundreds & thousands of miles away.
So fun is what we had.

I was outside of what my day-to-day has been the past month. I felt more hopeful. I laughed all weekend. We played games & I really had fun. Friends have that amazing quality to bring hope & fun into life. 🙂
The weekend was intentional. I had driven miles to visit and would only have until Sunday to have fun. We had to be intentional.

I would use all three words to describe the weekend, and I don’t think it’s a coincidence those three words came to my mind again today.

//
Can I let you in on a secret?

. . . . . . . . .

I don’t know what I’m doing.
I don’t have my life figured out.
I don’t have my emotions and feelings in order (they seem to be all over the place). Myself & my life feels pretty messy & disorganized. (Thanks Papa, you started this messy undoing last January. You’re taking my life that I’ve tried to keep as neat boxes and told me to get out of the box. I’m learning mess is okay. Let’s unpack the boxes and go through the stuff.mthrow out what is not healthy. That’s an entirely other post)
Do you feel me?
Is anyone else in this season of life? Coming from an adventure, having to figure out what your life is now, readjusting, refocusing, asking yourself what you want.
Anyone?

Well, I know that I’m not alone in this season. I want you to know you’re not alone in this season.

Now, if you have your life figured out, have a vision you’re moving toward, I commend you. Tell me, how did you figure it out? What was your journey like to get there?

If you feel you’re moving but don’t know where, I would suggest taking time to write down and answer, “what do I want?” Self discovery is a continual journey. I’m only 28, but I feel like as soon as I discover something about myself, I discover something else. It’s a continual self discovery journey.
It’s a journey that takes time. Time we often rush through in the instant gratification culture of the West we live in.

Can I share one more secret?
I discovered there’s people on the other side of the world not rushing through life. They value time. They taught me (through my impatience and frustration) to slow down. They value people. They value relationship. They are less task oriented and more people oriented. Maybe this is partially the reason my brain has been firing slower since I got back to the States. Haha!

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

What are your words you want to describe yourself and your world this year?

Take time to ask and answer What do I want? Let the answering be frustrating if it is. Let it be painful. Let it be exciting. Go big baby! You’re worth it.

Leave a Reply

